C.S. Trousers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• C.S. Trousers

I'm fairly new to reenacting and I am trying to upgrade my impression now that I have some extra money, I was just wondering the best(authentic) trousers to purchase. I do a late war (63,64) confederate Engineer impression. I know that our clothing was reported as "inferior" and our military appearance as "lax" as one report has indicated. any help would be appreciated thanks!
    Cpl. Dustin Saunders
    CO. E Harts Engineers, 3rd Regiment
    www.hartsengineers.com

Re: C.S. Trousers

Check out the list of approved vendors. You will be safe with any of them.
    James Duffney
    61st NY
    Brave Peacock Mess

Comment

First, be sure and sign your full name to every post! The Mods will get ya quickly for that.
      Now to your question, it is going to depend on what theater/unit you portray. If you are ANV it could differ a bit from AOT. By "lax military appearance" do you think they mean poor clothed or do they mean not well maintained such as equipment not buffed, rifles not cleaned, etc? Depending on the location and action of the unit you are portraying, you may want to look into civilian trousers. Just by reading your description I get the mental picture of a motley crew of men who aren't so much on going to see the quartermaster and laundress. Of course you might want to look into some captured federal (if you are perhaps crossing an old battlefield). You could go with CS issue trousers but you would want to research which depot made this issue. You basically have several choices:
      1. Civilian purchase
      2. Confederate Depot Issue
      3. Captured Federal
      A great place to check out would be Stony Brook

I would recommend their Royal Blue cs/civilians. I have seen a few in the field and they are VERY impressive.