Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Reenacting's place in Academia

Greeting gentlemen!

I’ve been participating in Living History since the summer of 1993, and am a proud member of the original Lucky 13 Mess out of Southern California. In that time, I have seen some good impressions and many bad impressions. I am currently doing some work with the University of California, Davis to identify Civil War reenacting’s place in academia and it’s place in preserving Civil War memory. As the most progressive lot of reenactors that I know of, I wanted to get your opinion on the matter.

What, in your opinion, is the educational value of reenacting?

What are the corollaries of inaccurate impressions in educating our spectators?

How can we make the reenacting community a better tool for educating American children about the Civil War?

Feel free to add any additional thoughts on this matter. Thanks.

Cheers!
    Gary Knowlton

Re: Reenacting's place in Academia

Relative to the educational value of reenacting - in my opinion, authentic reenacting is a equivalent to a graduate-level history-laboratory. Much like a living history farm or village, it provides us a chance to see what life was like for our forebearers, experience it at some level... and perhaps learn something along the way that the history book either didn't teach us or couldn't teach us. The history laboratory of reenacting takes abstract concepts like the effect of inclement weather on a body of troops and makes those concepts concrete.

I remember reading in a book of history, a number of years ago about a soldier that lost his shoe in the mud. I remember thinking, "oh, come on" ... that's impossible. Well, no it's not... I've since had my shoes sucked right off my feet by knee-deep mud. I've also seen a wind kick up and dry out that same field of mud in a matter of hours.