Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Nothing Like a Good Book

Hello,

I'm in sponge mode right now, so I'm in search of good sources for books on these topics:

Personal Accounts of soldiers during the Gettysburg Campaign

Detailed descriptions of the condition of soldiers in the ANV 1863-64

School and Life in agricultural towns in the South

A soldier's up keep of his uniform while on campaign

A detailed description of Rations, and how they were issued, in the ANV 1863-1864

I am not looking to buy books off of the forum, just looking for good sources.

All the Best,
    Last edited by The Chesterfield Rifleman; 07-11-2012, 02:09 PM.
    James Peli

Re: Nothing Like a Good Book

When I first started out in the field I was a college intern at Gettysburg... the NPS started us out on a reading program to give us a base knowledge of the Battle from which to develop. It consisted of:

The Gettysburg Campaign by Coddington... and the 3 day books by Pfanz - that will get any research on the battle and/or campaign started on the right foot.

From there I spent 3 months researching primary sources in the Gettysburg library... and I suggest you do the same. Plan a trip and make an appointment to spend a few days in their library... it is a wealth of primary accounts and sources simply unequaled anywhere else. I was luckly enough to work under likes of Greg Coco and Scott Hartwig

A good place to start his research on the ANV is General Lee's Army by Glatthaar

Web resources are plentiful too... personally I find Jstor and The Official Records by Cornell Univ. to be infinitely valuable.
    Todd Reynolds
    Union Orphan Extraordinaire

Comment

One of my favorites is 35 days to Gettysburg The campaign diaries of two american enemies by Mark Nesbitt. He takes the dairy entries of Thomas Lewis Ware Co. G 15th GA and Franklin Homer Co. H 12th PA and traces thier paths to Gettysburg. One survives the battle the other does not.

Dave Bushmole

Comment