Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions on Federal Senior Officer's Sack Coats

Hello,

I'm helping a friend put together an impression of Lew Wallace for a small event. His kit will be based on this photograph (see attached). Just wondering, can anyone tell if this is a officer's sack coat with staff muffin top buttons or a enlisted sack with muffin buttons?

Thanks.
    Attached Files
    Bryan Cheeseboro

Re: Questions on Federal Senior Officer's Sack Coats

The attached link shows a Junior officers coat, if you look the collar is stiff and does not bend over.
    It can then be assumed that the one he is wearing in your photo is a sack coat with muffin buttons. I am no expert however so if someone else with wider knowledge could say then it might clarify it better.

- Robert Dickson
    Robert Dickson, 2nd Lt. 69th New York, Company C UK

Comment

Unfortunately it is a heavily retouched photo, so some details have been obscured as well as the texture of the cloth. That said, I feel pretty certain he is wearing an officer-quality private purchase blouse, AKA "commercial blouse" with staff buttons. The cut of the collar does not look like an enlisted blouse to me. It probably has some outside pockets and would hang longer on the body than an enlisted sack coat.
      Paul McKee

Comment

I agree, forgot to mention it could be a private purchase blouse.
        This is the problem with these photos.

Comment

I'll add another vote for the private purchase sack. It is a pretty safe bet.
          John Wickett
          Former Carpetbagger
          Administrator (We got rules here! Be Nice - Sign Your Name - No Farbisms)

Comment