federal sack coat

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• federal sack coat

After about 15 years I am making a new sack coat. I am a western private from Ill. I have a Homespun pattern sack pattern M002. I would like to make something other than the J T Martin pattern which it seems everyone has. Would someone comment on what changes I should make to construct a Schuykill or Cincinnati depot jacket. I have been hand sewing for many years and would rather hand sew it, which as I understand all the schuykill arsonal stuff was. Any comments will be appreciated.

Ted Muller

Re: federal sack coat

Ted,

If your interested in really getting an accurate garment, I would tend to stay away from the pattern you are using or try to manipulate it to make it into another pattern. I am not an tailor expert, but there are several differences between the JT Martin pattern, Schuylkill Arsenal pattern, and Cinncinnati Depot pattern in regards to construction of the garment and size marks, etc.

If you would would like an Schuylkill Arsenal blouse that would be accurate for both Western and Eastern Theater, I would get a kit from Dan Waumbaugh and put it together yourself. I have a completely hand sewn SA blouse from Dan and my mess mate has one that he put together. The are very good blouses and should be more prevelent in our hobby - the entirely hand sewn version.