Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Parlour Guitar Recordings

Greetings All,

I just recently bought an antique parlour guitar and am interested in attempting to learn some of a new style. I am aware of the tutorial and lesson books available from the 19th century, but I was wondering if anyone is aware of modern recordings of the parlour guitar?

I learn mainly by ear, and would love to hear performances of 19th century songs, ballads, and other trad. music.

I've played a couple of minstrel tunes on the instrument and love the sound. If you know of any guitar oriented CDs of this genre that would be grand.

Thanks much & cheers.
    Your Obedient,

Matthew B. Bursig
    52nd New York Regt. "German Rangers",
    & The Daybreak B'hoys Mess

Researching the Life and Times of the 20th NYSV Regt. The "United Turner Rifles"

"Bahn Frei!!"

Re: Parlour Guitar Recordings

I am no expert and primarily a banjoist. I have recently started to dabble in period guitar. I approached it the same way as I did with the banjo and urge others to do the same. The first thing to do is forget all you have previously learned about technique and start from scratch using only period methods. Second, get rid of your plectrum and do not use it at all during the learning curve. It would also be wise to not carry one to an event to prevent the temptation. Third, no wire strings (except the silver over silk bass strings). I have chosen not to participate in "jams" with modern instruments at events. luckily, most period arrangements are solos or duets so this has not been a problem for me. In my experience, it was very difficult to go from a somewhat accomplished musician to a complete beginner. But I feel that this was the only way to learn correctly. Companion for the Guitar 1855, by Robert Kelley is free from the LOC American memories collection and has easy to play arrangements. I feel that the problem with learning historical music by ear is you will fall into the trap of r