Catgut Strings

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Catgut Strings

I'm not very fluent when it comes to authentic banjos, other than I play an 1887 banjo with modern nylon strings. Since I'm still learning to play, my instructor (who used to be an authentic himself) suggested I use nylon. He informed me recently that if I wanted, I could request by special order authentic catgut strings in order to string it up correctly for events. However, since I'm so new at this, I had a few questions that I thought someone might be able to help me with.

First of all, how much more difficult is it to play clawhammer style with catgut strings on the banjo? Is catgut really the most authentic material to be using for Civil War-era strings, or should I be looking at something different entirely? And finally, how greatly will the catgut strings effect the sound of the banjo/do they need to be strung tighter/looser/same, etc.

Thanks in advance!

Also, if anyone knows of a particular authentic catgut string dealer let me know. There might very well be differences in the quality of catgut strings that I don't know about but would very much like to!
    [SIZE="4"][B][COLOR=RoyalBlue]Eric Michael Burke[/COLOR][/B][/SIZE]
    [B][I][SIZE="2"][COLOR="SlateGray"]"BLACKJACK!"[/COLOR][/SIZE][/I][/B]
    [I][URL="http://www.saltriverrifles.com"]Salt River Rifles[/URL][/I]

[URL="http://xvcorps.blogspot.com/"]Forty Rounds: Fifteenth Army Corps, 1862-1865[/URL], Blog Owner.

[SIZE="1"][i][U][B][COLOR="DimGray"]In Proud Memorium:[/COLOR][/B][/U]
    [B]Pvt. James Swingler Chandler (3x Great Grandfather)
    [/B]Co. H, 111th Illinois Volunteer Infantry
    [B]Pvt. John D. Linthicum (4x Great Grandfather)
    [/B]Co. F, 118th Illinois Volunteer Infantry
    [B]Pvt. Martin Van Buren Straight (3x Great Grandfather)
    [/B]Co. E, 23rd Missouri Volunteer Infantry
    [B]Cpl. Andreas Schoen (3x Great Grandfather)
    [/B]Co. A, 30th Missouri Volunteer Infantry