Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fife and Drum Corp for beginner

Hello,
    I'm looking for an opportunity to join a fife and drum corp, or a unit with musicians looking to expand, preferably located in the Northern VA area (for convenience of practicing) who would be willing to take on a beginning fifer. I am an adult beginner working on my own with the help of a tutorial. Progress is slow and it is very obvious that I need to learn to play with experienced fifers.

I haven't had any luck finding such units, or persons to contact, so I'm hoping that I might find more info through this forum.

Thank you
    George Lewis

Re: Fife and Drum Corp for beginner

Wow, I could hardly resist...:)

George,

Sign up for the National Civil War Field Music School to be held at Pamplin Historical Park June 13-15, 2008. You will get great instruction plus a chance to meet other players to network with. More information is at:

Looking forward to seeing you there!

Jari Villanueva
    Music Director, National Civil War Field Music School
    www.nationalcivilwarfieldmusicschool.com
    [/SIZE][/SIZE]

Comment

Thanks for the response. Sounds interesting. I was hoping to find something much sooner.

George Lewis

Comment

George.....

The Liberty Hall Fifes and Drums are based in Hampton Roads Virginia. I know it is a far drive for you. We hold practices once a week and are starting a beginner class in January. The class will take place in Newport News. We have very experienced fife instructors both of whom taught at The Fifes and Drums of Yorktown for many many years. Edwin Santana and Josh Flynn.

We do have a member in Alexandria. He is a very very good drummer and can play a little fife as well.

We are members of the Stonewall Brigade and participate in allot of events in Northern Virginia.

To let you know you can buy a fantastic Tutorial (CD and Book) for learning the fife from www.beafifer.com

Contact me anytime for any help you may need.