Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Doing a First Impression

Hi All,
    This is my first time going onto a site like this, so please be gentle! I am from Ireland and have been doing ACW,(C.S.) over here for the last ten years or so (with frequent visits to US events). I am looking at doing a "First Impression" for next year's "season" in Ireland and would like any tips.

I alreads have the accent:), and would have details of life in Ireland prior to immigrating, but what else would I need to carry it off?

Thanks.
    Liam McAlister
    Co. Cork,
    Republic of Ireland

Re: Doing a First Impression

Liam,
    Since you have the research and the accent,I say just the right attitude.Have the knowlegde.Research the attitudes of Americans towards the Irish in the "area" of the south your character comes from.Also try looking up jobs in the area that might have been had by the lower classes.If your character is from New Orleans,then try having him working on the docks.
    I already said it,but the right attitude.That is key.It doesn't matter how much research you have.If you have a poor attitude,it is for nothing.

Hope this helps.
    Cullen Smith
    South Union Guard

"Always carry a flagon of whiskey in case of snakebite, and furthermore always carry a small snake"~W.C. Fields

"When I drink whiskey, I drink whiskey; and when I drink water, I drink water."~Michaleen Flynn [I]The Quiet Man[/I]

Comment

Welcome Liam

I would study the people and trades of the 19th century Ireland. Then pick one specific trade, story etc. to use for your persona. Also try the search function, it has lots of first person information.

Corp. Tim Fretwell
      10 LA Co.C

Comment

Hallo!

A "First Person" military impression (persona)? Or...
        A "First Person" civilian impression (persona)?

If you have thought about what you see yourself doing and where you see yourself fitting in... start by asking yourself these questions:

1. Who am I?