Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Developing a 1st person impression

Hello,

As winter quickly approaches, I know I have a lot of sewing to do, but between stitches I plan on working on developing a proper 1st person persona. Since in the 21st century I am a teacher, I thought I would portray an enlisted man that had been a teacher in civilian life. I have some ideas, such as including a copy of McGufee's reader in my pack, but that is where I sort of hit the wall. I reach out to you, esteemed forum, to solicit you opinions, suggestions or, dare I say, criticisms.

Kind Sirs and Gentle Ladies, I thank you in advance.
    Your Humble Servant,
    Sean R. Otis
    124th NYSV Co. A "Orange Blossoms"
    MIDDLESEX LODGE F. & A.M.

In Memorium: Harvey Otis, Jr. — 156th NYSV Co. A .
    Killed in action, September 19, 1864,
    at Winchester, VA. Aged 26 years.

Member of the "Hard Sauce" Mess

Re: Developing a 1st person impression

Why would you lug around a text book in your knapsack (or slate and pencil for that matter which I have seen someone else do)? What use would a soldier have for it? Bibles, Dimb novels and news papers sure but a school text book?

I would say develope some stories about your classroom and some of the students you have had. "This one time, at band camp, er, I mean my one room school house...." My mother was a teacher and has all kinds of classroom stories. There are many school house museums around. Check those out to learn about teaching methods in 19th century to add flavor to your classroom stories. Get yourself a nice scar on the palm of your hand and say that is from a wicked splinter from the paddle used for discipline.

I have a small collection of pre-civil war text books... lemme just say... folks back then learned way more than kids today!!!