Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Affixing a paper label in a cap

Hello,

Does anyone know the best correct way to affix a paper label into a cap? Any assistance would be great, I was considering hide glue if I can find it.
    Your Humble Servant,
    Sean R. Otis
    124th NYSV Co. A "Orange Blossoms"
    MIDDLESEX LODGE F. & A.M.

In Memorium: Harvey Otis, Jr. — 156th NYSV Co. A .
    Killed in action, September 19, 1864,
    at Winchester, VA. Aged 26 years.

Member of the "Hard Sauce" Mess

Re: Affixing a paper label in a cap

Old style will be Behlen hide glue. It comes in granules and you'll need a double boiler. It's available at luthier supplies like Stewart-Mac Donald or specialty wood working stores like Woodcraft. There is another more modern form which comes liquid and is sometimes available at the big box stores. Brand names are Franklin and Gorilla. I've no experience with the new liquids. As you only need a little bit, I'd check local for accoustical musical instrument repair. It's the glue of choice for mandolins, violins, cello, double bass and guitar repair. Folks that specialize in antique furniture restoration might be another source.
    Mike Stein
    Remuddeled Kitchen Mess

Comment

Hallo!

I have tried "Gorilla" glue. But have not mastered it.

It looks like hide glue, being transparent brown, but behaves differently. It expands several times its own volume or "foams" so what seem sot be a normal amount of glue expands out and makes a mess.
      Plus, I have had three bottles.. each used one time... and it hardens in the bottle in a week or three even when stored upside down to minimize air in the bottle. I have had a (plastic) bottle of hide glue for over ten years.

There is also a "milder" weaker version that still can be found, "mucilage" by Elmer's Glue and some other companies like LePage.

Or sundry kitchen top recipes for making "mucilage" cooking it from powdered gelatin, vinegar, and lemon extract.

Curt