Newbie Here

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie Here

Hello! First and foremost, I would like to thank the mods for accepting me into the AC Forums, secondly, I am completely as new as it gets. I will be participating in my first Reenactment event at Historic Fort Wayne in Detroit, MI this weekend. I've only been to two reenactment events thus far. My first one was back in 2013 in Chehalis, WA, and the most recent this past Memorial Day Weekend at Greenfield Village in Dearborn, MI. I've always been fascinated by Military History, and took a keen interest in the Civil War. So, why not get more into it?

I've recently begun my individual research to create an impression, and have read "Into The Tornado Of War" which documents the 21st Michigan Vol. Inf. through the Western Theater from Perryville, through Bentonville. My next read will be of the Eastern Theater on Michigan Regiments at Antietam.

The Unit I've joined up with is the 21st Michigan Vol. Inf. out of the Detroit Area, and generally am requesting some insight from you experienced members. I plan on building my impression, piece by piece, (Finances Permitting) So far, the only things I''ve picked up a pair of Fugawee Brogans, I have heard they are of decent quality/relatively correct/comfortable and within budget compared to going straight up for a Missouri Boot and Shoe Brogan. I have also gone ahead an ordered a 1858 Canteen from Blockade Runner. (I know to generally stay away from Big Name Sutlers, but have read that their Canteen is atleast one of the better ones on the Market), so, if you do not mind, I have a few questions: