Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beginning as Authentic?

Good Afternoon, folks!

First post here, but I've been lurking for a few weeks, soaking up all the information and wisdom I can. I was a Confederate drummer boy/limberman for an artillery battery when I was a kid in the early 90s, and loved it. Fast forward and I'm 33, still nuts about history in general and the Civil War in particular, and with [some] disposable income to get back into the hobby.

I'm falling in with a group that seems to take this thing seriously and has an emphasis on authenticity. I'm buying slowly and with research/guidance, and will be joining them for our first outing next weekend.

I guess I have a question and a possible topic for discussion. The question would be how to best portray an authentic impression (KY Confederate dismounted Calvary) when you don't have a jacket, a weapon or traps beyond a canteen? My group is going to loan me some stuff to get through the weekend, but I don't want to blow the impression by standing around without the basic gear a trooper would have had. Plus, I'll be clueless as to drill aside from what I can pick up by feverishly reading Hardee's, etc. What do you folks generally have new guys do to keep the overall impression true and correct as they're getting their kit and their knowledge up to speed? Hospital steward? Shirker under guard? In other words, how do I keep it authentic and not blow it for my new pards?