Polishing new barrels bright

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Polishing new barrels bright

I building up an 1861 Springfield this winter, so I have a brand new barrel to polish "armory bright'". This is my first attempt at building a musket from the ground up. The barrel has light machining marks, etc, and I need to polish these out. There are several threads with information on stock re-finishing, and some threads with de-farbing advice regarding barrels, but I don't see any on polishing a new barrel. I apologize if I this topic has been beaten about previously.

So, I seek advice on polishing a new 1861 barrel, such as whether to use any mechanical tools or do it all by hand, sanding cloth/block recommendations, etc.

Thank you for your consideration of this request.
    Lawrence E. Kingsley
    BTTY F, 1st PA LT ATTY

Re: Polishing new barrels bright

When I clean my Enfield, bluing taken off already, I use a simple green steel wool pad. Gives me a good shine every time and I get about three or so cleanings from it. Theyre inexpensive at maybe $3 for a 4 pack. Nowif I was in the field, I would take a damp cloth, dip a bit in the fire pit, a cold fire pit, and use the ashes that build up as a scrubbie. This method in the field works wonders, however a little more time consuming.
    Mike Dudkowski

Comment

Hallo!

"Polishing" metal is basically replacing deeper scratcehs with progressively finer and finer scratches until the human eye no longer perceives individual scratches but a uniform sheen or shine.

Basically, there are two ways to do that- one with only elbow grease and the other with power tools.