Bringing sheet music to an event

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bringing sheet music to an event

We are hoping to bring a bit of fun for reenacting with period music. The cover of our paperback "Songs of the Civil War" is a bit more FARB than I want to go!:wink_smil

Is there a period appropriate way to bring sheet music to the field for a civilian (my wife is in civilian impression)? Pointers to someone to supply an appropriate format much appreciated!

Chris Tucker
    Complete newbie joining the Texas Rifles.
    Chris Tucker

Re: Bringing sheet music to an event

You can start by viewing these links. One has the words and music and the other has just the lyrics.

You can also do a search in the Library of Congress webpage and find a lot of original stuff that you could print and carry with you instead of a modern book. I did a search for Stephen Foster and this http://www.loc.gov/resource/amss.as105130.0 was one of three song sheets listed on the first page.

Good luck with your search for music and I applaud your efforts for wanting to bring appropriate period music to events, it is WAY underrepresented.
    Tyler Underwood
    Pawleys Island #409 AFM
    Governor Guards, WIG

Click here for the AC rules.

The search function located in the upper right corner of the screen is your friend.

Comment

Re: Bringing sheet music to an event

What do you really want to accomplish? I often go through old songsheets and collections thereof. Printed versions of such are no problem. Bringing that horrible Songs of the Civil War is a problem. I don't fault that publisher. I own a copy. It's on my shelf. Sure not something I'd want to haul to an event.